Pretty Ricky Sparkling Rum Punch

Ricky St When moved to Little Rock I met Ricky Stereo from St. Catherine Jamaica at a used furniture store. He delivered my bed for free in exchange for my phone number. My sister Mechille called him Pretty Ricky because she said he was the first cute guy I ever dated.

Ricky would play his dance-hall cd’s  whenever he took me to work in his gold Honda Accord. I can still hear Sasha and Sean Paul singing “I’m Still in Love” in my head. This drink is my homage to Pretty Ricky because his skin was the color of Bacardi dark rum and he was always smiling. Trust me when I say that after a few cups you will be singing “Is This Love”.

Pretty Ricky Sparkling Rum Punch

Sparkling Rum Punch

Ingredients

1 cup pineapple juice

1 cup orange juice

1/2 cup Cointreau orange liqueur

1/2 cup Bacardi dark rum

2 bottles of Asti Spumante, chilled

Preparation

Stir together pineapple juice, orange juice, orange liqueur, and rum in a medium bowl; cover and chill 1 hour. Pour mixture into a large pitcher or punch bowl, and top with chilled sparkling wine. Serve immediately.

Leave a comment